Leadership Team

United Way Staff

Kerstin Rust, Executive Director 

With nearly a decade of experience in community development, Kerstin leads United Way's strategy for community impact and mobilizes local partners and networks to improves lives within Kankakee & Iroquois Counties. She believes that engaged and philanthropic citizens are ultimately what help communities flourish. Kerstin enjoys working for United Way because it fosters strong community connections, bring people together to advance the greater good.

Prior to joining United Way, Kerstin collaborated with global community leaders on implementing global health and sustainability programs with Lions Clubs International. She holds a master's degree in Public Service from DePaul University and bachelor's degrees in International Studies and Political Science from Butler University. A native of northwest Indiana, Kerstin relocated to Bourbonnais with her husband in 2013.

Angela Buzas, Database Coordinator

Angela is the database coordinator for United Way. Angela has a B.S. in Environmental Science from Wright State University and boasts nearly 20 years of experience in the field. Originally from Dayton, Ohio, her family moved to Kankakee County when her husband's engineering career brought them to CSL Behring.


Christina Cusumano, Development Manager

From the NW Suburbs of Chicago, Christina was first introduced to Kankakee County through Olivet Nazarene University. She received a B.S. in Public Relations and Strategic Communication in May 2019. Through her education, she was able to partner, volunteer, and work for different community organizations.  Now as Development Manager for United Way, she is excited to lend her skills, abilities, and passions to the surrounding community. She is most excited to see the ways that her work will produce tangible results for the people living in both Kankakee and Iroquois Counties. 



Board Executive Committee

Kyle Benoit - President
Mike O'Brien - President-Elect
Mileen Joines - Treasurer
Kathy Peterson - Secretary
Al Swinford - Immediate Past President

Board of Directors

Kyle Benoit - Riverside Healthcare
Dr. Michael Boyd - Kankakee Community College
Barbi Brewer Watson - Kankakee County Chamber of Commerce
Larry Burton (Iroquois County) - Thrivent Financial
Kevin Hack (Iroquois County) - Riverside Healthcare
Kris Harms - ITW Zip-Pak
Mileen Joines - Geoffrey Johns and Associates
Tim Jones - Cigna
John Keigher - Urban Farmer
Sarah Marion - Village of Manteno
Mike O'Brien - HomeStar Bank
Kathy Peterson - AMITA St. Mary's Hospital
Maureen Powell - CSL Behring 
Dr. Amber Residori - Olivet Nazarene University
Al Swinford - Village of Manteno Police Department
Laura Sztuba - Kankakee County Health Department
Dr. Genevra Walters - Kankakee School District No.111